Improbable Icon

Consolidated Feedback - What I think of Spatial after tutorials

v9-1-0
feedback
v10-0-0

Hello Spatials or rather Improbables,

As I have just finished dealing with the two tutorials available, I thought I’d share my feedback of the whole thing so far, perhaps that might help you guys and you won’t see it as a rant. I am just speaking my mind about the whole experience so far.

Before I start with any feedback I always like to mention a little disclaimer so here it goes:
I completely understand that SpatialOS was in Alpha and today entered Beta. I know exactly what is the meaning of both terms (I am a developer after all). However, the below feedback doesn’t assume such and is written in a general way. I understand that it is only natural that things aren’t thought out well, not working at times or plain weird. It isn’t finished at all. However, I find pure feedback in general is much more helpful as it doesn’t leave out stuff under the impression “oh, they probably know about it and will fix it/change it later”. Maybe, just maybe, it slipped off your minds and what I say – on the 1% off chance – could help out.

With that said, here is the feedback in no particular order:

• I love SpatialOS – I am not a network engineer nor am I network programmer. Networking is confusing and the fact that I don’t have to even deal with networking is just amazing. It is pure wow for me. I can make a multiplayer game without writing a single networking code :D. Well unless you count Command as one. But you get the gist. Thank you very much for such a project. I just love it. Albeit, this leads to the below point: