Improbable Icon

Data transfer while building

general

It looks like there is plenty of communication to the improbable servers while perfoming local build and local runs. Especially when the network connection has hickups this interferes with builds and runs.

An addition this hinders offline development and gives our network staff headaches as they want to keep their restriction policies in place to keep our networks security level high.

The need for authentication when only building or running locally is also very disturbing.

Why is all that background communication necessary and what exactly is done?

Hi there,
you’re correct that there’s quite a lot of network activity during the build process - I’m not an expert in this area but as I understand it there are three things going on:

• authorisation - we need to check that people are using the platform from authorised accounts. This is why it pops up a web page and then the authorisation lasts for a few hours.
  • updates - the stack also automatically checks for updates to the underlying infrastructure, this is separate from the SDK version (which you chose in spatialos.json) and it’s responsible for starting and running spatial local. Currently the build will fail if this can’t complete.
  • logging - there’s also some logging to help us understand how people are using the platform, however this is done in the background while the task is running, and won’t stop the task completing.

I hope that future versions may allow that the updates check to fail without blocking builds, as this would allow offline development after the initial authorisation has completed.

I’m not sure what why you find the requirement for authorisation disturbing - the vast majority of software I use as a developer performs regular license checks.