Improbable Icon

Huge scales and floats

After a chat with @dvanamst, I noticed that a lot of the questions that I have revolves around scale and floats. I want to open a discussion how others, for example @Bossa, solve this and if part of this cannot be solved from within the SpatialOS SDK.

Suppose you have enough workers covering an area of 1.000.000x1.000.000 units there are going to be entities that are outside the area where Unity can still service them. As a game developer I can try to implement my own Floating Origin solution but what a starting developer may not realise is that you need 2 Floating Origins. One on your Worker and one on your Client.

Or that person may not even be aware that the workers all use global coordinates inside Unity and that they are responsible for dealing with this problem in a larger simulation.

Is this something better facilitated by Spatial’s Unity SDK? So that the developer does not need to worry about scale or floating origins?

A somewhat related issue has to do with large gaps in spatial coordinates. A simulation that does not provide content in between every location, such as a network of star systems, will probably spawn a Worker per node (yes, this is a problem I face ;)). This sounds wasteful to me, and I was wondering if this type of situation is also something which might be interesting to address in SpatialOS by ‘compacting’ empty space somehow.

This topic may seem similar to Spatial World Resolution but I opened this as a foundation for a broader discussion instead of as a specific question

My understanding of this problem is that Unity and SpatialOS have different philosophy about “the world”.

Unity says, this is the world(scene) there may be or may not be things in it, but this is the world(limited by floating-point precision)

SpatialOS says, there may be or may not be other things in the world but this is what you can see.