Improbable Icon

Multiplayer Port

general

Hi,

SpatialOS seam a really interesting tech, but I’m not sure I quite understand all the possibilities yet.

I am thinking about porting my game over. Currently it uses Photon Unity Networking. The benefit would be bigger battles and more missiles flying around, because obviously more missiles is always better.

I guess my question is, does SpatialOS is better suited for non-traditional mutiplayer or is it flexible enough to do the usual kind of FPS "lobby’ system. Am I limiting myself needlessly by sticking to traditions?

Also, is it worth spending the time to port a game, or should I start something new?
Maybe porting the game would be a good learning exercise. (Keep in mind I’m a lonely dev working for fun)

Sorry for the almost meta-physical questions.

Hey, Those are some great questions. My advice would be to start something new first, just to get a feel of all the possibilities. The hello world tutorial is a great thing to fork and mess with to learn more about what you can do.

If after that you can see possibilities for your original game you should totally port it and much wiser people than me can even offer sage advice here on the forums :slight_smile:

Hey @SionoiS!

Herman is right - before you port anything, you should definitely run through the tech first to get a feel for the SDK and Platform :slight_smile:

I guess my question is, does SpatialOS is better suited for non-traditional mutiplayer or is it flexible enough to do the usual kind of FPS "lobby’ system. Am I limiting myself needlessly by sticking to traditions?

Personally, I believe that traditional lobby systems are less appealing when you have the power of multiple game engines at your fingertips. You could implement them, but it’s probably a little more fun to build a seamless world and see where that takes you! For example, you could have some of the debris from battles persist, proding an evolving terrain for players to navigate.