Improbable Icon

Player persistence between sessions

I’m a newbie with Spatial so forgive me if this topic is covered in either the docs or a previous post.

It seems to me that the goal Spatial is seeking to solve is persistent world simulation; So when a player logs back in they see the world has moved on - both from the actions of other players and the actions of NPCs.

However, where to store the state of the player who logged out?

Seems to me it’d be an unnecessary overhead to store it somewhere in the Spatial world - consuming memory and resources when the player might not log in for a week - and not useful or safe to store it on the local client machine; So would the answer be to pair Spatial with something like Playfab for this purpose? Then not only could the persistence of player stats, inventory etc. be offloaded out of Spatial, but Playfab could effect login authentication, in-app purchases and so on.

However, by introducing a third party framework in this way, it allows the possibility of a hacked client to connect to the game with arbitrary god stats. So really there needs to be a some kind of secure authentication directly between this third party framework and Spatial.

Is there a recommended pathway here? How are other games utilising Spatial handling this issue?

Hello @philg!

You are indeed right on many points: storing data while people are logged out can indeed be offloaded to a third-party service.

Those points have also indeed been somewhat covered in past posts (no blame on you though, they are quite old):

These two posts contain already quite a lot of information but there is definitely more to be said so do not hesitate to ask any other questions that you have or that might come up!

Best regards,
Duco

Excellent.

Thanks, your reply has led me down a very fruitful path. It actually seems very straightforward but I’d like to just double-check I haven’t missed anything important. Here is how I think I could implement it: