Improbable Icon

Trouble Launching Cloud Deployment

I have been following the GDK for Unreal Example Guide, and am currently stuck at step 3.5 (Sample Projects > Example Project > 3. Launch a cloud deployment > Step 5: Launch your cloud deployment).
When I try and deploy via DeployGame.bat, I encounter the error required flag(s) “runtime_version” not set. Unfortunately I am fairly new to CLI and can’t seem to figure out how to set the runtime version.
When using Unreal Editor, I select Deploy as per instruction in the documentation, and encounter the initial dialogue box. When Launch Deployment is clicked, the following second dialogue box comes up, and I’m not entirely sure what is wrong or if it is related to the CLI error. Finally, the console window does not launch. I’ve also tried following the YouTube video tutorials and redoing some steps, including re-running the BuildProject.bat. Not sure if it’s worth noting but it works perfectly fine locally.

Spacial CLI Version: 20200622.093857.47fbb22e5c
Project Name: beta_thirteen_salami_921
Assembly Name: exampleprojectassembly; gdkshooter2020-06-24; Beta-13-Salami (I have multiple of the same, was testing and re-trying different steps)

Thank you very much for the help! I suspect that I’m missing something obvious…

Hi @nashevch,

So it looks like these are two separate issues you’re running into.

Firstly, I’ve checked the repo and it looks like the DeployGame.bat is out of date and missing the mandatory runtime_version parameter.

You can ammend line 17 to the following to get this to work for you:

spatial cloud launch %deploymentname% one_worker_test.json %deploymentname% --snapshot=snapshots/default.snapshot --cluster_region=eu --runtime_version=14.5.1 || goto :error

https://github.com/improbableio/UnrealEngine/blob/4.24-SpatialOSUnrealGDK-release/Templates/TP_SpatialGDK/spatial-resources/DeployGame.bat