Improbable Icon

SpatialOS Discourse Forums

Unity & Spatial

I am wondering if anyone can explain to me in layman terms what is happening with unity & spatial in terms of distributed game objects and licencing.

I am a unity noob just prototyping an idea for a multiplayer network game and saw Spatial and thought wow with a big F awesome.
I got really excited about the idea of partitioning game objects and the plethora of possibilities this could give.
My initial noob take on things is no gripe with Spatial but what is going on with Unity as they have just closed off a load of awesome possibility but strangely don’t have an in-house alternative.
That is what I don’t get as why would unity just say no to something that doesn’t really encroach on any core service apart from they seem to want to dictate you will use their servers or Google cloud only?

So I thought I would ask here as I am a noob to game engines in what is purely the opinion of others when it comes to unity.
I haven’t really worked out what their strategy is, my Unity dev intro has been brilliant as 2 weeks in I am actually starting to get quite confident on realising my prototype that I will not run into a skill cul-de-sac.
Am I going to waste a lot of time with unity who seem to be operating in what could be said of the bad old days of Apple/Microsoft enforced usage control?
Purely opinion what do you devs think from unity to UE

Hey @rolyan-trauts,

Welcome to our forum community :slight_smile:

I can’t speak on behalf of all our devs or offer insight on the differences between Unity and UE, I’ll leave that to our dev pros on here!

However, I just wanted to clarify - and in case you weren’t aware of it previously, especially if this is the case you’re referring to - that SpatialOS still very much supports developers working on Unity.