Improbable Icon

World Building Approach

unity
virtualworld
v11-1

Greetings all - First, a little about me;

I’ve been a software developer, architect, and research professional for nearly 15 years; and I’ve been an avid PC gamer since before PC gaming was actually a thing. A long, long time ago - a friend and I designed an entire RPG system for a tabletop game that I’ve always wanted to implement as something MMO-Like. The interesting parts of the system centered around things like evolving politics between player and non-player factions, economy, and story-telling, while components of the system like combat, skills, spells, and movement were fairly simple compared to some systems. All that being said, I’ve started laying the groundwork for this system (in all my spare-time) using a combination of PlayerFab (authentication), SpatialOS (World), Firebase (Data Storage), and Unity (Mechanics/Logic/etc).